Mr. Sensitive

October 28, 2013

Katie’s Top 50 Songs of All Time

Filed under: Uncategorized — lbej @ 09:05

Katie refuses to rank her top songs and that simply cannot stand.  So it is that I’ve taken it upon myself to create the Katie Top 50.  I’m pretty sure that it’s inaccurate, but I’m just as certain that it’s more accurate than it is inaccurate, and I have no doubt at all that it’s more accurate that Katie would admit.  A few caveats:

  1. Only songs that are in our iTunes library are included.  That means that Matchbox 20 doesn’t dominate the list, as would otherwise be the case.  (We don’t have any Matchbox 20 in our library because Katie insists on hiding her love.)
  2. There is, of course, an arbitrary element to the process, and the farther down the list I went, the more arbitrary it got.  For example, I’m pretty confident that #1 should be ahead of #2, whereas I have no confidence whatsoever that #41 should be ahead of #42.
  3. If you think I’m wrong, it’s because you’re wrong.  This should go without saying, but you’d be surprised how many folks still haven’t taken it to heart.

Without further ado, here are Katie’s Top 50 Songs of All Time:

Rank Title Artist
1 A Better Son/Daughter Rilo Kiley
2 The Love You Save Jackson 5
3 (Everything I Do) I Do It For You Bryan Adams
4 Bernadette Paul Simon
5 Run-Around Blues Traveler
6 Support System Liz Phair
7 Ignition (Remix) R. Kelly
8 Bag of Hammers Thao
9 Lovely Rita The Beatles
10 When I’m Sixty-Four The Beatles
11 Closer To Fine Indigo Girls
12 Crash Into Me Dave Matthews Band
13 Daysleeper R.E.M.
14 May Queen Liz Phair
15 Who’s Johnny El Debarge
16 Science Vs. Romance Rilo Kiley
17 Celebrity Skin Hole
18 I’m Yours Jason Mraz
19 ABC Jackson 5
20 Feel Me Flow Naughty By Nature
21 Lovefool The Cardigans
22 La Isla Bonita Madonna
23 Least Complicated Indigo Girls
24 Otherside Red Hot Chili Peppers
25 Just a Friend Biz Markie
26 Lovebug Jonas Brothers
27 Tongue R.E.M.
28 Tonight Tonight Hot Chelle Rae
29 A Groovy Kind of Love Phil Collins
30 Wonderwall Oasis
31 What Makes You Beautiful One Direction
32 Save the Best for Last Vanessa Williams
33 Charm Attack Leona Naess
34 Stay (I Missed You) Lisa Loeb & Nine Stories
35 I’ll Be Your Everything Tommy Page
36 Every Morning Sugar Ray
37 Imitation Of Life R.E.M.
38 Time After Time Cyndi Lauper
39 Greased Lightning Liz Phair
40 My Slumbering Heart Rilo Kiley
41 I Will The Ben Taylor Band
42 Build Me Up Buttercup The Foundations
43 I Want You Back Jackson 5
44 Please Don’t Go Girl New Kids On The Block
45 Papa Hobo Paul Simon
46 Galileo Indigo Girls
47 Bump N’ Grind (Old School Mix) R. Kelly
48 Hold An Old Friend’s Hand Tiffany
49 Russian Girl Liz Phair
50 Strawberry Letter 23 Tevin Campbell
2 Comments »

  1. I think you did a great job – better than I would because I can never decide on these things and would just end up listening to music I like for hours. Nothing jumps out as obviously missing to me. I would maybe choose a couple different Indigo Girls songs (Midnight Train to Georgia or Thin Line from the live album). But really that’s about all I can come up with. Also, I didn’t realize some of these songs were in our iTunes library, and I’m SO excited about the CDs you’re going to make for me!

    Comment by Katie Eure (@euregirlsandboy) — October 28, 2013 @ 09:26 | Reply

    • That’s one that I struggled with–you used to just listen to the Indigo Girls albums straight through (with a few exceptions) and I didn’t really know which songs were your favorites. I will say this: “Closer to Fine” is every Indigo Girls fan’s favorite Indigo Girls song, whether they admit it or not, whether they know it or not. If you’ve been to one of their concerts–as we have have–you know that song is on another level.

      Comment by lbej — October 28, 2013 @ 09:36 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

