Mr. Sensitive

August 23, 2013

FSX Friday Update

Filed under: Uncategorized — lbej @ 19:51

So I know my market updates are the best. I’m really going to focus on the highlights of the week in the market. Which means the three big stories Lee told me about. Do you know what they are? Have you been listening?

  1. Nasdaq trading was halted either yesterday or the day before (I can’t remember which one) because their computers broke or something. A technical problem. I may not have followed up to get the full details of what happened and why, but I know it happened.
  2. Microsoft dude announced he’s retiring. Not Bill Gates, the other dude, Steve. This was good news for the market because he’s old and not exactly moving Microsoft forward, so people are ready for him to go.
  3. Ben Affleck is going to be Batman. I love Ben Affleck, so I’m cool with it.

On to the people.

S&P 500 +0.5% and FSX +0.5% (advancers over decliners 14-11)

Advancers

  • Marcus (MCS) +6.8%. Marcus is feeling ready for school and baby. As ready as one can be. The good news is that babies force work life balance, which is actually pretty nice.
  • Nami & Lita (NL) +5%. Charlotte’s cats are excited about back to school for Charlotte after a little school hiatus because they want to do some learning. If she studies anything like Lee has always studied, she can pace around her apartment performing lectures about the subject she’s studying, which should result in some really smart kitties.
  • Reagan (REGN) +3.4%. Reagan’s a Wombat. That’s her class mascot this year. I think it’s cool and different, like Reagan. She is of course excited about school and ready to get back to it. She spoke at a teacher welcome back breakfast on Monday, and while she informed me she was shaking because she was so nervous, she did a great job and probably made her teachers love her even more.
  • Lee (TGI) +3.3%. Getting so close to the end of the part of the book he’s been working on for quite a while has to feel awesome. And Justin’s website work so far is also awesome and makes us feel excited about our plans for this book. Plus who likes the return to school routine even more than Reagan? Her dad.
  • Dustin (DST) +2.4%. Lucas’s later start to the school year must mean extra father/son golfing time.
  • Charlotte (ICE) +1.9%. Yay for learning!
  • Mario TY (MAR) +1.9%. I know Lee hates it when I mention TV shows in my updates related to Mario, but how awesome is Breaking Bad’s final season right now? There aren’t many things more awesome than good TV.
  • Ruby (RJET) +1.8%. Mom’s excited about enjoying the tail end of summer weather before she has to wear her winter Crocs for her morning walks. And before she turns 60!
  • Katie (CATY) +1.7%.  I’m taking my improvement this week as a sign that a new start to the Couch to 5K plan next week is going to go well. When the girls return to school next week, I’m determined to get an actual exercise routine going. (I say for the at least two millionth time in my life, but I swear I mean it, and my stock increase means it’s going to work. So there.)

Decliners

  • Lisa (LNCE) -2.1%. Lisa’s not invited to father/son golf? I’d think that would be a good thing. I know what it really is. Lisa sent me her football picks almost immediately after I emailed the spreadsheet. And I failed to send it on to Lee so he could give her proper credit in the FSX update for being the first one to respond. Now everyone can know, and Lisa can try to win the official Brinky cup.
  • Lucas (LEI) -2.5%. Can’t beat his dad at golf yet, I guess.
  • Jenny (JNY) -4.0%. Jenny is very excited about the new school year and her young and cool teachers. What she’s not excited about? The return to the 5:30 wakeup. But we’ll all adjust some time before the school year ends. I started waking them up earlier this week and when I went in to their room Monday morning at almost 7:00 and said, “Good morning, sunshines! Good news. It’s not quite light out yet!” Jenny was not amused. She’s also a little disappointed I didn’t immediately start reading Mortal Instruments after we saw the movie on Wednesday.
  • Zondro (ZQK) -5.6%. Zondro’s not so happy about the return to the school year routine because it means much more outside time for him. Wilson loves the outside time in the relatively stress free backyard. Zondro loves inside where he can be with Brinky and eat all the food he doesn’t eat.

 

Name Ticker 8/23/2013 Change
Brinkley BCO $27.55 -0.21
Charlotte ICE $185.33 +3.54
Dustin DST $73.70 +1.75
Ghost Marisa MOLXA $25.10 +0.14
Icarus FAST $45.17 +0.37
Jenny JNY $15.18 -0.63
Jodi Ann JOY $52.45 +0.19
Justin SCI $18.78 -0.12
Katie CATY $23.83 +0.39
Lee TGI $76.62 +2.47
Lisa LNCE $27.17 -0.58
Lucas LEI $1.26 -0.03
Lulu LULU $71.77 +1.64
Marcus MCS $13.21 +0.84
Mario T.E. MGEE $55.34 -0.29
Mario T.Y. MAR $41.16 +0.76
Namilita NL $11.46 +0.55
Nicole E. NICE $38.30 -0.17
Nicole M. COLM $57.69 -1.47
Reagan REGN $238.85 +7.87
Ruby RJET $12.04 +0.21
Wilson WILC $7.10 +0.11
Winston ED $56.59 -0.05
Zero ZAGG $4.63 -0.03
Zondro ZQK $5.06 -0.30
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

