Mr. Sensitive

July 11, 2012

Lazy Laziness

Filed under: Uncategorized — lbej @ 09:35

Jenny and Reagan both decided they needed to have sleepovers with friends yesterday and I allowed it, despite having made it clear many times I don’t like unexpected kid incursions.  They also both decided that having sleepovers meant they didn’t have to do their chores; I’m behind schedule on my book edits as a result of picking up the slack and they know they’re expected to help if I can’t make up the deficit by force of will.  So Jenny arrives home after walking her friend home this morning and launches a preemptive strike.

Jenny:  Can I go lie down upstairs?

Me:  Why would you do that?

Jenny:  It’s just, for some reason, my stomach started hurting.

Me:  Your stomach was fine while Katelyn was here.

Jenny:  I know, but I was walking just now, and for some reason, it hurts.  So can I go upstairs?

Me:  Jenny, you are going to have to try harder than ‘my stomach hurts.’

Jenny:  I’m serious!  My stomach hurts!

Me:  I’m serious that you’re going to do your chores and watch your baby brother this afternoon, and you’re not going to complain, or he’ll be having sleepovers with his friends before the next time you get to.

Jenny:  Fine.  But can I go upstairs now?  My stomach really hurts.

I may sound insensitive, but ‘my stomach hurts’ coupled with a strategic ‘I don’t know why’ or ‘for some reason’ is Jenny’s go-to excuse.  She’s going to be 11 in a week and she can do better–at least mix in a headache every third time or so.

1 Comment »

  1. I don’t think you sound insensitive. Maybe because I’m possibly more insensitive than you when it comes to this sort of thing, so I never believe Jenny’s actually sick. She is the worst at pulling out the stomach hurting excuse.

    Comment by euregirlsandboys — July 11, 2012 @ 10:37 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

