Mr. Sensitive

June 27, 2012

Can I Turn A Spider?

Filed under: Uncategorized — lbej @ 09:15

I aim to find out.

A spider has set himself up in my office, building a web in the corner behind the door.  When I noticed him while cleaning this morning, my first thoughts were violent–this is an intolerable affront, it demands a swift and sweeping reprisal, and so on and so forth.  But there’s too much that doesn’t fit.  When the spiders were undertaking reconnaissance in force back in April and May, they were using hairy, black rearers; that wave of incursions stopped abruptly when I bleached up the front porch.  The chap in my office is a small, nondescript web-builder; he’s no kind of threat.  What’s even more peculiar is the location he’s chosen.  House spiders often (try to) build webs in the ceiling corners, as these are closer to flying insect prey and farther from disruptive human and animal traffic.  The chap in my office built in the floor corner.  It’s obvious I am meant to see him, but not to perceive his presence as a threat or a warning.  I can’t understand why the Dominion sent him here.

So maybe the Dominion didn’t send him at all.

Perhaps the political fissures opened by the 2010 Basement War haven’t been sealed so effectively as I’d believed.  Perhaps this spider in my office is an independent operator of some sort, the existence of which would, in itself, belie a dangerous lack of administrative cohesion in the Yard.  In any event, I mean to let him alone for now.  Maybe he can even catch the fruit fly that keeps landing on my monitor and activating the infernal touchscreen.

 

1 Comment »

  1. Maybe it’ll work! Do you ever think of the Dominion on Star Trek when you write about spiders? Because I do sometimes when I’m reading your spider posts.

    Comment by euregirlsandboys — June 27, 2012 @ 09:28 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

