Mr. Sensitive

May 29, 2012

Fighting the Wrong War

Filed under: Uncategorized — lbej @ 09:34

The most recent public pronouncements around Book War II pushed the start of the opening offensive to July 1, safely clear of both Heroes Con in Charlotte and Mario’s wedding.  Of course I can’t wait that long; I know it, the book knows it, the spiders know it.  I’ve mounted a Book Line to supplant the Book Wall and I’m prepared for the read-through of Chapter 1; fully prepared, except for the insurmountable fear and loathing.  Somehow, this is more daunting than writing the first draft, even though BWII won’t be anything like the six-month grind that BWI was.  Before I just had to do it, but now I have to do it right–if I can.  I have to unbotch all the botched ideas I know are out there waiting to shove my botches down my throat.  But wait!  What about how terrible my children are?  Surely there’s something there.

You don’t see the problem?  The girls’ room is a mess, sure, but it’s hardly the Gordian Knot.

What’s that you say?  The Gordian Knot got stuffed under the bed?

I believe you’re right…unless that’s it, hiding in the closet.

Today will be a mini-war to see what, if anything, I can justify not giving/throwing away.  Then tomorrow I’ll have to find another excuse to leave that first garbage chapter sitting where it is.

1 Comment »

  1. But it looks a little nicer with their beds all clean and pretty, doesn’t it? I started to say something about all the crap under the bed last night, but I decided not to since I knew you just wanted to get rid of most (all) of it.

    Comment by euregirlsandboys — May 29, 2012 @ 11:49 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

