Mr. Sensitive

January 13, 2012

FSX Friday Update

Filed under: Uncategorized — lbej @ 17:42

This market needs to go down.  It wants to go down, you can just feel it, and even no-news bad news like today’s downgrade of France, Austria and who-cares-else gives the sellers a reason to sell.  The valuations are just not that bad, though, and if you’re a fund manager who has to own something, you can find a lot of attractive stocks.  The way to play it in a perfect world would be long stocks and short the stock market.  In the short term, it’s possible to do just that with futures and ETFs, but over two quarters or more it just doesn’t work, especially not when everyone wants to put on the same trade.  The bottom line is I don’t buy stocks here, even if they are cheap, because they’re going to get cheaper.  If you own stocks you like, especially if they yield three percent or more, I wouldn’t sell, either.  If you own high-growth stocks, on the other hand, I would.

I want to share two other market-related gems.  First, I watched an interview with Mitt Romney this week wherein he was questioned about his ‘politics of envy’ critique of the Occupy movement.  The interviewer put it straight to him: so Mr. Romney, you would tell the people who are protesting that asking for accountability from Wall Street, asking for fairness, that that’s nothing but envy?  And he said, yes, it’s just envy, just class warfare.  So he’s admitting that he thinks trying to hold Wall Street accountable for using the government to steal taxpayers’ money is just people being jealous.  You stole from us and got away with it—now you want applause and low taxes?  I actually respect Romney for not trying to equivocate, for saying that he supports rich people getting what they can however they can, and to hell with you if you don’t like it.  That’s how Republicans govern, but they never admit it.  Well, here’s their frontrunner admitting he’s all in for rich people.  I want to be able to vote on that.  Too bad there’s no way we’ll get to (that sound you hear is the spin machine in high gear already).

The second thing I want to share is a before-and-after.  I saw this dude on CNBC this week, just killing it visually, looking like a rock star mountaineer and talking about the economic effects of austerity,

and I couldn’t figure out, first of all, why CNBC would put such an awesome-looking dude on TV, making them look terrible by comparison, and second of all, how he looked familiar.  So I looked him up, and I realized he used to be this guy

Paul McCulley, managing director at Pimco, the world’s largest fixed-income fund management company.  Then he quit and became, apparently, awesome.  Look at him.

I can’t believe it.  Then I realized that this is what I wanted to happen when I stopped cutting my hair two years ago.  Instead, it looked like I was wearing a wig made of shredded toilet paper.  And that’s why my stock fell off a cliff last year: because I’m not Paul McCulley.

The Family Stock Index was up big this week, adding 4.1% on top of last week’s 1.7% gain to close at 11,727.  We handily beat the broader market (S&P 500 +0.9%) and our breadth was strong at 20 to 5 advancers over decliners.  So even without the 220-plus points Reagan has added single-handedly in the last two weeks, we’d still be beating the S&P.  Which is not to say she’s giving any of those points back.

Advancers

  • Reagan (REGN) +20%.  Reagan is up 42% in two weeks.  That’s on top of 69% last year.  And I have been baffled…until now.  This week I obtained the top secret plans for Reagan’s 8th birthday sleepover, plans I am now making public.  Good luck believing any of this.

You’re going to want to enlarge that picture and study it in detail.

So…how do I follow that?  Hell if I know.  My mind is completely blown.  Looks like I need to schedule some time to settle down.

  • Zondro (ZQK +16.7%) and Lulu (LULU +15.4%).  Both animals are spending a lot of time inside, inside being the place to be.  You should check it out for yourselves; maybe Reagan can give you a tour.
  • Zero (ZIP +9.3%).  The market learned Zero’s going to be on vacation next week and was really surprised, having believed he never took any time.  Maybe Zero’s boss was so relieved to have comfortably won the New Hampshire primary that he decided the lowlies can have a few vacation days here and there.  What’s the world coming to?  Next thing you know they’ll be putting windows in factories and it’ll be all over for capitalism.
  • Jodi Ann (JOY +7.2%).  Another big week for Jodi Ann; you have to wonder, if she and Marcus both teach the same subject at the same high school, yet he’s wound tighter than whatever’s really tightly wound in Skyrim, and she’s not, what’s up with that.  Maybe Jodi Ann only seems to be able to put work and/or life into context, but I’ve always said that seeming to be able is the gateway drug to actually being able.  Actually I’ve never said that, and it doesn’t even sound like something I’d say, but frankly, I’m still thrown by Reagan’s 19-item sleepover agenda.  I can’t even think of 19 things I want to do in the next month.
  • Charlotte (ICE +1.3%) and Nicole B. (NI +0.7%).  Charlotte and Nicole get a special mention because until the middle of the day today, they’d both been in the bottom four with Jenny and me all week.  Then something happened around lunchtime, almost certainly something nefarious.  Maybe they sold their clothing business to Zero’s boss, Mitt.  I hear he’s always looking to buy—presidencies, etsy shops, whatever.

Decliners

  • Jenny (JNY) -1.1%.  This is a second-straight poor showing for Jenny, and it took the combined efforts of her father and grandfather to keep her from finishing last again.  The market may be telling her to get a move on with her science fair project and, perhaps, to appreciate fairs of science more generally.  After all, where would Jenny, Reagan, and Brinkley be without school science fairs?  They wouldn’t be, that’s where.  Ever the helpful scientist of accounting, Katie even suggested a subject of inquiry for Jenny: showers, and what it’s like to ever take one.
  • Lee (MSTR) -1.1%.  Well, let’s take failure inventory, shall we: I don’t look like Paul McCulley; I also don’t look like King George V or Robert Plant, while we’re on the subject of my appearance failures; my party list would have one item on it (#1. Cancel Party); and my son still shows little-to-no interest in fighting me in an MMA-style cage match.  All that together comes out to down 400%, so I can’t complain.  I mean, I can, and I did, but still.
  • Mario the Elder (MGEE) -1.7%.  I could be wrong, but my guess is that the Romney plan for Social Security (‘Get Rich Before You Get Old’) isn’t likely to be good for business.

 

Name Ticker 1/13/2012 Change
Brinkley BCO $27.36 +0.75
Charlotte ICE $116.47 +1.46
Dustin DST $46.99 +0.35
Icarus FLOW $3.65 +0.20
Jenny JNY $9.21 -0.10
Jodi Ann JOY $82.74 +5.53
Justin WOLF $3.09 +0.12
Katie CATY $15.79 +0.33
Lee MSTR $106.24 -1.13
Lisa LNCE $22.99 +0.48
Lucas LEI $2.54 -0.08
Lulu LULU $61.96 +8.28
Marcus MCS $12.84 +0.41
Mario T.E. MGEE $44.22 -0.75
Mario T.Y. SUP $17.55 +0.62
Marisa MOLX $25.94 +1.13
Namilita NL $13.11 -0.05
Nicole B. NI $23.16 +0.16
Nicole L. COL $57.15 +0.60
Reagan REGN $78.92 +13.13
Ruby RJET $3.75 +0.25
Wilson WILC $4.86 +0.08
Winston ED $59.18 +0.08
Zero ZIP $15.00 +1.28
Zondro ZQK $4.26 +0.61
1 Comment »

  1. Wow, Reagan. That’s the cutest thing, especially with her precious handwriting. “Sit and tell secrets” is my favorite, especially because it’s the perfect thing to do right after some ice cream, and it’s best if followed by some TV, just to relax and shake off all the intensity of secret-telling. She knows how to have a slumber party. I hope her friends are prepared to follow her plan.
    Maybe I went up this afternoon because I started doing my laundry for the first time in almost a month. Clean sheets are always nice.

    Comment by Charlotte — January 13, 2012 @ 19:13 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

