Mr. Sensitive

December 2, 2011

FSX Friday Update

Filed under: Uncategorized — lbej @ 17:22

The big news in the market this week was the Fed intervention all up in the business of the whole world.  I’ve written about that already and I’m going to start with the swearing if I add anything else.  The big Family Stock Index news is the formal annexation of Nicole B. and Jodi Ann L. along with, in the latter case, a dog of some sort.  I haven’t met said dog, or Marcus’ cats, so they won’t be joining the index as yet.  But I have met Jodi Ann, and Katie and I are hard at work on finding a suitable stock to represent her.  By which I mean we talked about it for five minutes yesterday.  I’ve got two weeks/chapters to go before my first scheduled break in the Book War and FSX roster changes and the 2011 Top 200 Songs update are at the top of my list of things to do during the armistice.  I promise to be as tastefully insulting as I am to all my family and friends.

The market’s reaction to Betrothalfest 2011 was…ah…let’s call it muted.  Marcus was the best performer among the engagers and engagees, and he finished an uninspiring 12th out of 24.  Nicole B. and Justin managed lackluster 5.7% and 4.3% increases, respectively.  On a normal week those would be bulletin-board numbers, but when the FSX was up 900 points and 13 stocks in the index posted double-digit percentage increases, they weren’t.  Honestly, I’m surprised Nicole B. didn’t sell off on the week, considering how fully the market had priced in the NIWOLF merger; after all, she is up 28% year-to-date, third-best in the entire FSX, and within a few pennies of her 52-week high.  For his part, Justin is basically flat on the year, not too shabby considering this acquisition was so widely anticipated, and considering also that he is a notorious dog-kisser.  Even up 11% this week and 20% in the fourth quarter, Marcus is still the worst year-to-date performer among those three prospective marriers.  What does that tell you?  Probably nothing.  I don’t track Jodi Ann yet, and I can’t evaluate a trade unless I can see both sides of it.  I don’t think Marcus tongue-kisses his cats, though, so he’s got that working in his favor.

Advancers

  • Ruby (RBY +21%) and Mario the Elder (PBY +14.8%).  Enjoyed a nice, relaxing week together in Hilton Head.  Wait a minute…
  • Zondro (ZQK +17%) and Marisa (MOLX +11.6%).  I had occasion this week to consider where I would rank my pets by magnitude of affinity, or put another way, which of my pets I would be least likely to strangle and put out with the trash.  As it stands, I would put Marisa in first with Zondro a close second, and the market is clearly betting he has the momentum to carry him to the top in ’12.  As to the other two, suffice it to say that Zondy and Marisa shouldn’t be looking over their furry shoulders.
  • Katie (CATY) +15.7%.  Broke out the Christmas music this week.  I’m looking forward to many servings of f***ing pie and frosted mini-wheats throughout the season.
  • Icarus (FLOW +14.6%) and Winston (HWD +12.4%).  Am I sure that I would put Icky and Winston ahead of Lulu and Wilson on the un-strangle list?  No.  But I’m less sure that I wouldn’t put them ahead, and the market knows how to interpret that, even if no one else reading this sentence does.
  • Brinkley (BCO) +12.8%.  Does a lot of da-da-da-ing these days.  With his typical diffidence, he calls the window and the bookshelf da-da at least three times as often as he does me.  He does spit at me more than he spits at anyone else, though.
  • Jenny (LEN) +12.0%.  Very excited about her hip-hop dance classes.  I’m excited that she’s enthusiastic about something other than Harry Potter and Twilight for the first time in about forever.  One of her hip-hop dance moves is called, as far as I can tell, ‘booty,’ and—again, as far as I can tell—the name fits.  I’m less excited about that.
  • Future Me (MSTR) +10.6%.  I’m ahead of schedule in the fifth week of the Book War after I got 5300 words yesterday.  Maybe I put up a one-day number that big on one of the first three and maybe not, but let me tell you, that’s a big number.  Put it another way, at that pace I’d be done inside of four weeks.  I can’t maintain anything like that pace and wouldn’t attempt it, but to do that yesterday—when Brinky gave me one measly two-hour nap—suggests to me, and the market, that the war is winnable.
  • Charlotte (ICE) +8.5%.  We told Jenny Charlotte wasn’t coming here for Christmas on account of her new kittens, and she said, “Is that some kind of joke?”  Jenny has been working on a plan for kitten-contravention, and I think that hip-hop dance may play a central role.  Booty booty!

Decliners

  • Legacy Lee (LEE) -11.7%.  I’m divesting myself of…myself, effective the first of next year.  A part of me wonders if the old me could have survived if he had been better managed by someone, but that’s the essence of the problem, after all: someone else would’ve had to make that mess work.  My heart just wasn’t in me.
  • Wilson (WILC) -18%.  Guess who’s last on the un-strangle list?  Katie says these last few months of mobile Brinky have aged Wilson visibly, and this week the bottom fell out of the stock.  Katie wouldn’t notice for at least a week if Wilson disappeared altogether, so if she can tell that he’s struggling, well, he may be on his way to the sub-$1 zone along with Legacy Me and…
  • Zero (FRZ) -27%.  I’m going to have to pick a new stock for Zero next month, and this will be the second-straight company that he’s ground down into loose change.  Maybe Zero the dude is doing just fine, and he’s just making a point about the vagaries of free-market capitalism by karmically sticking it to one stock after another.  Or maybe he doesn’t like kittens.
Name Ticker 12/2/2011 Change
Brinkley BCO $25.25 +2.86
Charlotte ICE $123.42 +9.64
Dustin DST $47.36 +2.14
Icarus FLOW $2.59 +0.33
Jenny LEN $18.41 +1.97
Justin WOLF $2.43 +0.10
Katie CATY $13.77 +1.87
Lee MSTR $121.32 +11.60
Legacy Lee LEE $0.53 -0.07
Lisa LSI $5.77 +0.67
Lucas LEI $2.30 +0.14
Lulu LULU $49.69 +3.43
Marcus MCS $11.96 +1.19
Mario T.E. PBY $11.73 +1.51
Mario T.Y. SUP $16.54 +1.82
Marisa MOLX $24.73 +2.57
Nicole B. NI $22.56 +1.21
Nicole L. COL $54.34 +2.79
Reagan REGN $58.28 +4.50
Ruby RBY $3.96 +0.69
Wilson WILC $4.47 -0.98
Winston HWD $11.24 +1.24
Zero FRZ $0.51 -0.19
Zondro ZQK $3.16 +0.46
2 Comments »

  1. Icarus is up because he’s going to be seeing me tomorrow, and he could feel our impending reunion in his bony bones.
    I hope Zero’s next ticker works out better, although like the idea that he’s always down to mess with the system. That makes sense. He’s ornery like that.
    Jenny said she’d send me a video of her practicing what she learned in hip hop class, and I told her that would be a dream come true. I really hate that I might not make it there for Christmas this year. But I’m banking on being within reasonable driving distance to y’all come May, so my visits can be much more frequent. Wouldn’t you just love that?

    Comment by Charlotte — December 2, 2011 @ 18:54 | Reply

  2. […] today, while reading Lee’s latest FSX Friday Update, Jodi turned the laptop around to show me his banner picture, which is currently of Gimli, who […]

    Pingback by Smart bark. « The Guts of Tiphares — December 3, 2011 @ 17:52 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

