Mr. Sensitive

November 15, 2011

My Greatest Fear

Filed under: Uncategorized — lbej @ 11:12

I think my unconscious mind has better discipline than the conscious one does.  Probably this is because my consciousness can be hijacked by things like pain and Brinky, whereas the unconscious is not similarly encumbered and is free to focus on what is really important in my underbrain: sex and spiders.  Alas, not in that order; in fact, it’s more like 60/40 for spiders, by which I mean 90/10.  I pay close attention to my dreams, though, because occasionally I dream about the book I’m writing, and sometimes I dream about books I should be writing instead.  Last night I had a terrifying dream.  Upon reflection, it doesn’t seem frightening, but I can’t deny the way I felt when it shocked me awake.  To set the scene I have to reveal that the dogs keep getting out of the fenced-in backyard.  Zondro is a digger, and in collaboration with the mowing man he’s managed to loosen or snap fence planks enough in several places that he’s able to dig/wriggle out.  Then the little fat one follows him.  Invariably one of our neighbors returns the dogs, but I feel that the authority of my marshal’s baton is degraded a little each time.  In the dream last night they had straight-up knocked off three of the fence planks and dug a multi-laned trench under the fence, and it felt like a goddamn slice of life.  Except for the ability of the dogs to actually accomplish the feat in question, I completely believed everything about the dream.  If you know how much time I’ve spent trying to reinforce that fence, the dream doesn’t surprise you.  If you don’t know, now you know.  In the dream our neighbors across the street had to bring the dogs back again–in the rain, no less–and I felt like I wasn’t even a man, let alone a marshal.  The answer, obviously, is barbed wire.

There weren’t even any spiders in the dream.  Except the hidden ones that are in all my dreams.  And the invisible ones that cover every surface in my house.

1 Comment »

  1. Poor toogie. I wish they would stop getting out. I feel really stupid when someone shows up at our house with one of our dogs, especially if we had no idea they were missing.

    Comment by euregirlsandboys — November 15, 2011 @ 11:14 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

