Mr. Sensitive

October 21, 2011

Point-Counterpoint re: Pick Me Up

Filed under: Uncategorized — lbej @ 08:47

Me:  I tried to put you down for the nap that Your Eye-Rubbing Grumpy-Face desperately needs, and if I recall, you grunted a bit, then stood up, threw your pacifier on the floor, and started jumping up and down in your crib.  So it’s your fault that you’re tired, and it’s your fault that there’s fruit all over the floor, and I have to clean up the fruit, so I’m not going to pick you up right now.

Brinkley:  That is a strong argument indeed, Father, but I must respectfully make this rejoinder:  pick me up.

Me:  I’m cleaning up your mess and I’m not picking you up.

Brinkley:  Touché.  Yet I must wonder whether you’ve given full and measured consideration to pick me up.

Me:  I’m not picking you up.  And don’t bite my toe.

Brinkley:  Oh, Father, how easily your logic becomes muddled under stress.  Clearly you cannot not pick me up.  And just as clearly, you have a delicious toe.  I think there’s a little fruit crust on it, in fact.  For which, by the by, you are welcome.

Me:  Fine.  [Picking up the baby.]

Brinkley:  Excellent.  Now we need to solve this dilemma of how I am to eat your toe whilst you are holding me.  Clearly your flexibility is at issue.  Let’s work on that, shall we?

1 Comment »

  1. I love this post so much (and you).

    Comment by euregirlsandboys — October 21, 2011 @ 14:12 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

