Mr. Sensitive

October 13, 2011

Book War – Chapter Titles

Filed under: Uncategorized — lbej @ 14:34

I decided this weekend that I needed to press the attack somewhere along the fortified line opposite me, if for no more lasting purpose than to create a salient and find out whether the enemy would pinch it right off, as he has so many times in the last year.   I had been considering 35-40 possible titles for chapters in this book I’m fighting, figuring I’d lay out the chapters by subject, write them, and then affix titles from my candidate pool as seemed appropriate.  The alternative is to name chapters before I even know how many chapters there are, let alone what each of them is about.  But of course it’s the accepted fact that the Ardennes is impassable that makes passing through the Ardennes such a no-brainer.  So I named the chapters first.  Astonishingly, naming the chapters and putting those names on the Book Wall produced an unlooked-for breakthrough.  Yesterday I got a look at the entire thing for the first time, and most critically, I discovered the plot thread that will knit it all together.  I knew I was missing that final element–it was the major obstacle–but I didn’t know what it was or even where to look for it.  Turns out that I needed to break through the front lines to where the book was hiding the missing integrator from me.   So the chapter names gave the thing a complete skeleton, but I needed something to put on each of the chapter boards to flesh it out.  I decided to write a plot synopsis for each chapter–bearing in mind that I didn’t know the whole plot–based as much on the chapter names as anything else.  And I’ll be damned if it didn’t work.  I wasn’t able to fully exploit my breakthrough because there’s a mean baby here and because–this part is ridiculous–I need tape and the girls used it all making Halloween decorations.  It was as though the Germans’ December 1944 Ardennes offensive faltered and failed to reach the Channel ports simply because the tanks ran out of gas.  Well, the tanks did run out of gas, and I do need more tape.  But I want to smash the book in the mouth, so it’s not enough to tack the chapters names to the wall of my office–I need to nail them to the face of the universe.  So here they are:

  • Chapter 1:           On the Black Line
  • Chapter 2:           Strawberry Day
  • Chapter 3:           Baffle
  • Chapter 4:           His Puissance
  • Chapter 5:           Uncovet
  • Chapter 6:           Tee Ball
  • Chapter 7:           Integrative Intel
  • Chapter 8:           The Frog’s Fault
  • Chapter 9:           1st Montreal
  • Chapter 10:         Cowgirls
  • Chapter 11:         I’m No Suvorov
  • Chapter 12:         Distressed Assets
  • Chapter 13:         The Universe, Squeezed Into a Ball, Rolled
  • Chapter 14:         Hochets
  • Chapter 15:         The Problem with That Night
  • Chapter 16:         Touch the Earth
  • Chapter 17:         Like Its Spine
  • Chapter 18:         George Washington’s Big Finger
  • Chapter 19:         Prizrak
  • Chapter 20:         The Eighth Marshal
  • Chapter 21:         Apparatus Kiss
  • Chapter 22:         Debellatio
3 Comments »

  1. So exciting!!!

    Comment by Charlotte — October 13, 2011 @ 15:00 | Reply

  2. That’s awesome. I like that Chris Martin is showing you some love for your accomplishment.

    Comment by euregirlsandboys — October 13, 2011 @ 16:20 | Reply

  3. I can’t wait, dude. So good.

    Comment by Marcus — October 14, 2011 @ 18:58 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

