Mr. Sensitive

August 17, 2011

What Is It 2?

Filed under: Uncategorized — lbej @ 14:51

A week ago we captured a Yard Dominion strike fighter following what I believe to have been a field test gone awry.  Jenny opened the back door to let the dogs in before going to bed and in flew the biggest wasp-like insect I have ever seen.  It barreled into the kitchen and smacked into the light above the dinner table, and my first thought was that it was a Junebug–that’s how heavy it sounded on impact.  Besides, those idiot beetles are always running right smack into the side of the house and killing themselves, so it wouldn’t have been out of character.  Then I saw the shape of the thing, and I ordered everyone to clear the kitchen immediately.  It alighted on the light with which it had collided before, and I hit it with two blasts of wasp/hornet spray, leaving it to crash into the table, dead.  I needed time to think, and so I left it there overnight.  I also felt that it was best to evacuate the downstairs for the remainder of the evening in case the attacker was an advance scout rather than a raider.  In the morning I swept it into a jar and stored it away in my medicine cabinet along with a giant H2-spider carcass I salvaged for research from the garage last year.  Yesterday I decided to photograph it alongside a quarter to provide a sense of scale.

As you can see, it is much larger and more heavily armored than the average wasp.  No doubt it could have done some damage if that had been its intention.  As it was, the creature was clearly off its intended flight path and its disorientation allowed me to dispatch it with relative ease.  Two things concern me: first, why haven’t I noticed such monsters anywhere in the yard before, given the size of the thing; and second, look at the size of the thing!  I am growing steadily more and more suspicious of the intentions of the Yard Dominion, and the focus of my suspicion is now the likely pursuit of several clandestine weapons programs.  It may be time to set a good portion of the yard on fire.

2 Comments »

  1. I think it looks like one of these: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eastern_cicada_killer which sounds terrible because the name includes, you know, killer, but is apparently harmless. What do you think?

    Comment by euregirlsandboys — August 17, 2011 @ 15:39 | Reply

    • That looks like our boy–or girl, I guess. But that Wikipedia entry sounds like spider propaganda to me. So far my discoveries have been a cow killer and a cicada killer; I don’t like the trend that’s developing here.

      Comment by lbej — August 17, 2011 @ 16:45 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

