Mr. Sensitive

June 6, 2011

You Will Never Win

Filed under: Uncategorized — lbej @ 11:39

Brinkley has been off-schedule for nine days now, what with holidays for the girls and vacation for Katie, and he is being as terrible as he can.  Yet somehow, inexplicably, I’m equal to it.  I’m not sure why that is; I was completely done in yesterday, but I woke up this morning with an unexpected reserve of martial energy.  Of course it will all be gone by 5:30, as Brinkley’s assaults are steadily draining away my strength, but I’m confident that he won’t break me today.  As I think about it, I realize that means that I think he’s got a decent shot at winning our daily contest the rest of the time.  The proof is in the pudding, or something like that: he won’t win the war, and I know he won’t, but he has reduced my forces to a discombobulated rabble on more than one occasion.  The only difference between us is that I have adult assistance coming at the end of every day, while he’s got no reserve baby army.  Granted, his sisters are liabilities as often as they are assets, but they don’t hate me like he does.  I suppose that another difference is that he’s a helpless baby and I’m not, but if we break it down like that I seem far less heroic.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

