Mr. Sensitive

June 19, 2010

No Multitasking

Filed under: Stuff I Just Wanted To Say — lbej @ 13:51

Multitasking–and I hate that word, it’s just what Katie says–is intended to be a less offensive way to describe not paying attention.  I remember many conference calls in my past life when a person would be addressed and there would be silence, then the person would say, “Sorry, could you repeat that?  I was multitasking.”  I hate that because I hate semantic obfuscation, and I hate rudeness.  If you need me to repeat something because you weren’t paying attention, just say so.  In fact, just hang up the phone and focus on the thing that you clearly believe is more important rather than insulting me and wasting my time and your own.  A person can not–absolutely can not–focus on more than one thing at a time.  It is impossible by definition.  It is possible to perform multiple monotonous mindless tasks simultaneously.  However, you cannot chat with someone on your infernal mobile device, or read someone’s Facebook page, or compose an email, while you are listening to me and considering what I have to say.  As you can tell, this is not a purely academic debate for me.  So my request for the Empress this weekend is that a two-day moratorium on multitasking be imposed.  She agreed, so we’ll see how long it lasts.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

